Crucible (Valdemar Anthologies #9) (Mass Market)

Crucible (Valdemar Anthologies #9) By Mercedes Lackey Cover Image
Email for information about this item.


In March 1987, Mercedes Lackey, a young author from Oklahoma, published her first novel, Arrows of the Queen. No one could have envisioned that this modest book about a magical land called Valdemar would be the beginning of a fantasy masterwork series that would span decades and include more than two dozen titles.

Now the voices of other authors add their own special touches to the ancient land where Heralds “Chosen” from all walks of life by magical horse-like Companions patrol their ancient kingdom, dispensing justice, facing adversaries, and protecting their monarch and country from whatever threatens. Trained rigorously by the Herald’s Collegium, these special protectors each have extraordinary Gifts: Mindspeaking, FarSeeing, FarSpeaking, Empathy, Firestarting and ForeSeeing, and are bonded for life with their mysterious Companions. Travel with these astounding adventurers in these original stories.

About the Author

Mercedes Lackey is a full-time writer and has published numerous novels and works of short fiction, including the best-selling Heralds Of Valdemar series. She is also a professional lyricist and a licensed wild bird rehabilitator. She lives in Oklahoma with her husband, artist Larry Dixon, and their flock of parrots. She can be found at

Praise For…

Praise for the All-New Tales of Valdemar Anthologies:

"An enjoyable assortment of stories told from the perspectives of Heralds, non-Chosen and even animals. ... The authors have such varied voices that even if you find one story not to your liking, you are sure to find many more that are."
—RT Book Review (for Crucible)

"Fans of Lackey's epic Valdemar series will devour this superb anthology. Of the thirteen stories included, there is no weak link--an attribute exceedingly rare in collections of this sort. Highly recommended."
—B&N Review (for No True Way)
"Valdemar fandom, especially, will revel in tihs sterling example of what such a mixture of fans' and pros' work can be. Engrossing even for newcomers to Valdemar."
Booklist (for No True Way)
"The sixth collection set in Lackey's world of Valdemar presents stories of Heralds and their telepathic horse-like Companions and of Bards and Healers, and provides glimpses of the many other aspects of a setting that has a large and avid readership. The fifteen original tales in this volume will appeal to series fans."
Library Journal (for No True Way)

Product Details
ISBN: 9780756409029
ISBN-10: 0756409020
Publisher: DAW
Publication Date: December 1st, 2015
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: Valdemar Anthologies