The Creeper (Paperback)

The Creeper By A.M. Shine Cover Image
$16.99
Backordered

Description


The Creeper is a masterful tale of horror and suspense from one of Ireland's most talented emerging authors.

Superstitions only survive if people believe in them...

Renowned academic Dr Sparling seeks help with his project on a remote Irish village. Historical researchers Ben and Chloe are thrilled to be chosen – until they arrive.

The village is isolated and forgotten. There is no record of its history, its stories. There is no friendliness from the locals, only wary looks and whispers. The villagers lock down their homes at sundown.

It seems a nameless fear stalks the streets, but nobody will talk – nobody except one little girl. Her words strike dread into the hearts of the newcomers. Three times you see him. Each night he comes closer...

That night, Ben and Chloe see a sinister figure watching them. He is the Creeper. He is the nameless fear in the night. Stories keep him alive. And nothing will keep him away...

Reviewers on A.M. Shine:

'A dark, claustrophobic read.' T. Kingfisher

'Readers get an intimate glimpse into the fraying edges of each character's psyches... Will appeal to fans of Kealan Patrick Burke, Josh Malerman, and Scott Smith.' A.E. Siraki, Booklist

'An ideal read for the Halloween season, or any time you want some spookiness in your life!' Beauty and Lace

About the Author


A.M. Shine writes in the Gothic horror tradition. Born in Galway, Ireland, he received his Master's Degree in History there before sharpening his quill and pursuing all things literary and macabre. His stories have won the Word Hut and Bookers Corner prizes and he is a member of the Irish Writers Centre. His debut novel, The Watchers, has been critically acclaimed. The Creeper is his second full-length novel.

Follow him on @AMShineWriter and www.amshinewriter.com

Praise For…


“Shine has quickly established himself as a must-read author... Brutal, visceral and unputdownable” —Kendall Reviews

“Absolutely perfectly pitched. Horror fiction is teeming with great boogiemen and The Creeper ranks with the very best of them” —Horror DNA

“A masterfully written novel of gothic horror that will draw you slowly into a scary, claustrophobic world” —SF Crowsnest

PRAISE FOR A.M. SHINE:

'A dark, claustrophobic read.' T. Kingfisher, on The Watchers.

'This book has such atmosphere, and creepiness, and is an ideal read for the Halloween season, or any time you want some spookiness in your life!' Beauty and Lace.

'Readers get an intimate glimpse into the fraying edges of each character's psyches... Will appeal to fans of Kealan Patrick Burke, Josh Malerman, and Scott Smith.'” —A.E. Siraki, Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9781801102193
ISBN-10: 1801102198
Publisher: Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book
Publication Date: October 17th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English