The Flood: A totally unputdownable crime novel (Paperback)

The Flood: A totally unputdownable crime novel By G. N. Smith Cover Image
$10.99
Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)

Description


The flood waters are rising. And so is the body count...


Police officer Fiona MacLeish has been ordered to step back from her role in Police Scotland. Haunted by the murder of her parents, she's dangerously close to breaking point: and is back in her remote childhood home nestled in a valley on the Scottish border. But there's a terrifying storm coming...


When Fiona finds the bloodied body of a neighbour in their flooded house, a chill runs through her veins. The bruising around his throat tells Fiona someone wanted this elderly man dead. And with the torrential rain cutting the farming village off completely, the murderer must still be nearby.


But flood waters continue to rise, and landslides force Fiona to take shelter with a crowd of locals at the highest-standing farm. Then, another victim is found, with more suspicious wounds. Trapped at the farm with a killer, with no hope of outside help, can Fiona catch them before more of the isolated community become victims?


The Flood is the first book in the Fiona MacLeish series. With an unforgettable setting, a strong female lead and packed with twists, this is the perfect read for fans of J.M. Dalgliesh, J.D. Kirk and Simon McCleave.

Read what everyone is saying about The Flood:

'I read this book in one day. It had me on the edge of my seat and didn't want to put it down. I had to know what happened I would definitely recommend.' @70booklover, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'Wow That just about sums it up right there Twist, turns, suspense, THRILLER I loved how much this book made me hold on with both hands One chapter after another ... Fantastic ' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'Fantastic... Had me hooked from page one... So vivid that I felt as if I was standing there with Fiona MacLeish watching everything unfold... I would definitely give more than 5 stars if it was possible.' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'Atmospheric and tense... Had me hooked from the off and didn't let go until the final paragraph... A fabulous read.' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'A delicious page-turner right from the start. Every time I had to put it down, it was all I could think about. I did end up finishing way past my bedtime, just so I would be able to sleep.' Goodreads reviewer


'An absolute corker of a book... Ah, the tension... The wind screaming past the house, the water rising... I can picture it all... Very well-crafted novel and I can't wait to read the next book in the series ' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'I was gripped by this story within the first few pages... Full of twists and turns... The excitement level is through the roof. I couldn't put this book down and wanted to zoom to the end.' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



Product Details
ISBN: 9781803149141
ISBN-10: 1803149140
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: September 22nd, 2023
Pages: 294
Language: English